The Next Big Thing In Washington

O.K., O.K., I’m seriously guilty of not posting a blogster for a very long time. No excuses, but got caught up in the seasons going ’round and ’round and the painted pony going up and down.

Also, my new post title was lifted from today’s blog by Paul Gregutt, so I’m admitting my guilt No. 2. Probably Paul won’t mind, but just in case, advance apologies are appropriate.

I can’t help but agree with Paul that Iberian grape varieties are beginning to hit the spotlight. It’s been a very long road since my first grenache in 1989 … holy smokes! Now, grenache has become a fairly precious commodity in Washington State, and it’s seriously contracted in many vineyards.

I find it surprising that mourvedre (monastrell in Spain … it’s home of origin) hasn’t gained far greater ground, but I’m fine with it. Secrets never last very long, and sooner or later, many more winemaker’s will wake up and realize it’s greatness. We’ve been making mourvedre under the McCrea label for about nine years now and it’s one damn fine grape (thanks Jim Holmes and Ryan Johnson). Also, no surprise, it’s been a very good success in our Rhone portfolio. I find people really love the wine.

There’s certainly no current stampede for tempranillo plantings. I’m fine with that as well, but having experienced the syrah glut (after now 19 years of working with the grape), I truly hope it never suffers the same fate. All the chillins wanted a piece of the action.

For those of you who weren’t in the Tri-Cities last week at the W.A.W.G.G. convention, there was a total morning panel called “Syrah or F.U.B.A.R.” And to his credit, it was Paul Gregutt who nailed the primary issues as to syrah’s current demise. Personally, I’m glad he didn’t have a winery to talk about. A couple of times I was nodding off. But regardless, a word to the wise. Babies, pick your spots and do your homework, or take a look at the February issue of Wine & Spirits Magazine. It’ll give you a wake-up call! Once again, kudos to Patrick Komiskey!

As for tempranillo in our state … it’s a natural! Flavors are true to character and it’s translating from it’s digs in Rioja and Ribera very accurately. As usual though, we suffer from the “Baby Plant” syndrome, but I’m willing to suffer a bit. Once I figure out how to reincarnate, everything will be fine! I plan on transmigrating when the plants are 40+. I just need some help from my Hindu friends.

Regardless, my gratitude to Paul for his wonderful complements in his blog today. I really love what I do, but only remember, I’m just the messenger. If one is willing to listen, the vines will speak.

So here’s the link, and if you haven’t followed Paul’s blog, I truly recommend you do. It illuminates so much about our state’s wines. Thank goodness, Paul avoided the “points.” For one, I simply enjoy the journey! Hello!!
http://www.paulgregutt.com/

Incidentally Paul, one day, I’m ‘gonna whip out the sax, and look out! I have a tune for you …

Espana ha llegado a Washington!

gato malo

About salidawine

Salida Wine is a creation of winemaker Doug McCrea featuring a portfolio of wines made in Washington State from Spanish grape varietals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

